Record Details

Catalog Search

O my America! : six women and their second acts in a new world / Sara Wheeler.

Wheeler, Sara. (Author).

  • Book Book
  • ISBN: 9780374298814 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 0374298815 (hardcover)
  • ISBN: 1466836903 (e-book)
  • ISBN: 9781466836907 (e-book)
  • ISBN: 0374534780 (pbk.)
  • ISBN: 9780374534783 (pbk.)
  • Description: xvii, 281 pages : illustrations, map ; 22 cm
  • Edition: First American edition.
  • Publisher: New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2013.

Available copies

  • 4 of 5 copies available at NOBLE (All Libraries).
  • 1 of 1 copy available at Gloucester. (Show all copies)

Current holds

0 current holds with 5 total copies.

Library Location Call Number Status Due Date
Gloucester Adult Nonfiction 973.9/Wheeler (Text to Phone) Available -
Beverly Main Adult Nonfiction E 184 .B7 W45 213 (Text to Phone) Available -
Danvers Adult Nonfiction E 184 B7 W45 2013 (Text to Phone) Available -
Lynnfield Adult Nonfiction E 184 .B7 W45 2013 (Text to Phone) Available -
Salem Adult Non-Fiction 973.9/WHEELER (Text to Phone) Checked out 03/31/2017

Content descriptions

General Note: "Originally published, in somewhat different form, in 2013 by Jonathan Cape, Great Britain, as O my America! : second acts in a New World"--T.p. verso.
Bibliography, etc. Note: Includes bibliographical references and index.
Contents Note: Merely telling the truth : Fanny Trollope goes to Ohio -- Brave new world : Fanny Kemble goes to Georgia -- A great embryo poet: Harriet Martineau goes to Massachusetts and Kentucky -- Is this America? : Rebecca Burlend goes to Illinois -- Above love and hate : Isabella Bird goes to Colorado -- No there there : Catherine Hubback goes to California.
Summary: Traces the steps of six women--author Fanny Trollope, actress Fanny Kemble, economist Harriet Martineau, homesteader Rebecca Burlend, traveler Isabella Bird ,and novelist Catherine Hubback--who came to America in the nineteenth century to start new lives.


Wheeler, Sara, "O my America! : six women and their second acts in a new world," New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2013.

Additional Resources